Hollie Smith - Philosophy of Soul

TheQuietStorm.Com presents Hollie Smith

With her deep strong powerful voice and her own New Zealand soul sound, Hollie Smith is a Quiet Storm when she sings. Her main instrument is piano, most often a Fender Rhodes. She has a special way or thing about how she simultaneously sings and handles the keys picking the right chord voicings. She is especially good playing with a band, live.

The video below is not live, but a conceptual video to a studio track to her song titled Philosophy of Soul.  What do you think?  Let me know @ GC

Hollie Smith - Philosophy of Soul

Connect Direct with Hollie Smith at HollieSmith.Co.NZ


The Quiet Storm on Amazon.Com


Carlos Santana - Black Magic Woman

The Quiet Storm presents Carlos Santana

One of the ultimate Quiet Storm songs ever is of Carlos Santana performing the classic song Black Magic Woman.

The song was originally written by Peter Green and it was first used by Fleetwood Mac as single in 1968. However, in 1970, Carlos Santana was the first to take the song to "hit" status.

There are numerous live filmed recordings of Carlos Santana and his fabulous band performing Black Magic Woman floating around. The version just below was filmed in 1971 for German TV's Beat-Club, which happened to be the first German TV program that focused upon pop and rock music from the U.S. and Britain.

Here is the most recent "Official Live Video" of Black Magic Woman.

Connect direct with Carlos Santana at Santana.Com


The Quiet Storm on Amazon.Com

Trixie Whitley - Silent Rebel Pt. 2

TheIndies.Com presents Trixie Whitley
Trixie Whitley and her band - Photo by Anton Coene

Falling fresh into The Quiet Storm format is artist Trixie Whitley and her song titled "Silent Rebel Pt. 2", which is track #5 off her most recent album titled Fourth Corner. It's hard to pigeon hole Whitley's music into any particular genre, she is all over the map in terms of so many sub genres of rock, soul, blues, and jazz.

She hangs with one fantastic photographer in particular, Anton Coene, who has been shooting a majority of her music videos as well as candid live films of Trixie recording songs from Fourth Corner while in the studio, like this song that is officially Quiet Storm... Buy the entire song and/or record here if you like it! GC

Connect direct with Trixie Whitley at TrixieWhitley.Com


TheQuietStorm.Com on Amazon.Com

Laszlo - Butterflies (Featuring Norah Jones)

The Quiet Storm presents Laszlo featuring Norah Jones

A few years before Norah Jones began to rise to fame on her own in 2002, Jones was the vocalist in a band called Lazslo with guitarist Jerome Covington, Aaron Crouch on keyboard, vibraphone & samples, Marc Rogers on electric bass and Bill Campbell on drums. Before I knew who Norah Jones was, I had originally found this song on MP3.Com when MP3.Com was filled with what seemed like millions of bands I'd never heard. It was one of the best places ever to discover new talent by simply digging through songs. Finding this song was like finding that proverbial needle in a haystack. Loved it right away, and it has stayed on my personal music playlist for many years. Only recently did I dig around and find out it was actually Norah Jones and friends. Enjoy! GC

Lazslo (featuring Norah Jones) - performing the song Butterflies

Click here to buy the Lazslo album titled Butterflies

Connect direct with Norah Jones at NorahJones.Com


Sade - Sweetest Taboo (Live in Concert)


Just below is a timeless classic song by one of the greats! This was filmed live in concert on October 3, 1993 at the Open Air Theater in San Diego, California.

Sade - The Sweetest Taboo

Connect direct with Sade at Sade.Com


TheQuietStorm.Com on Amazon!

Goapele - Play


The Quiet Storm is proud to present Goapele and her song titled Play from her Break of Dawn record. It is a song that personifies the spirit of The Quiet Storm. However, this mix was not made for wimpy speakers.... in fact it might blow them up. So, be careful with the volume knob before you start playing this. But once you find the sweet spot on the volume knob, put it on repeat and savor the flavor of some sexy romance with that special someone. GC

Goapele - Play

Connect direct with Goapele at Goapele.Com